newest older email

2005-09-04 - 11:33 p.m.

Fort Lauderdale, FL.

Kanye West! He�s up there sayin� what we�re all thinkin�!

There are better people than me pointing out that Bush might not have let middle class white folks live on their roofs for five days eating tiling, cement and birds� nests to stay alive. I�m not one to be prejudiced � some of my best friends don�t mind brainless cracker oil boys who�d rather play golf than address massive human suffering � but it does look just a teeensy, weeeeensy, k.k.k.eeeeeensy bit racist.

Still, at least he made up for it by getting down on the ground and assuring people in the disaster zone face to face that things were going to be��oh.

Oh, well. Never mind. I think you have to be personally responsible for the complete and utter destruction of TWO cities before they impeach you.

There�s also been much made of the language and images used in the media re: the aftermath. Call me a docile old goat with the brains of a drunken amoeba, but I�m not so sure there�s much of a bias. Let�s look at what the politically correct brigade have got their organic, free-range kickers in a twist about:

Caption for photo of white people waist deep in water and carrying most of the consumables department of their local store: �Brave survivors with an unassailable will to live find meagre scraps of food that they probably even left money for under the counter.�

Caption for photo of black people waist deep in water carrying one soggy loaf between a family of seven: �Thievin� nig-nogs!!!�

Only a communist would argue there was any bias THERE.

One other amusing (by which I mean 'soul-destroyingly depressing') thing was to look on Craiglslist at the personals, especially the �Men seeking Women� section. Pre-Katrina: about three or four ads a day. Post-Katrina: about 30 �genuine guys� who are �wanting to help� per day. For example, this tempting offer from a 51 year old concerned soul (my italics):

I CAN HELP OUT SINGLE YOUNGER WOMAN: I am an older guy and I admit I have a soft spot for younger woman (Hell of an admission, bro�. I for one respect you for it.). I may help get you here (will pay half bus fare), front you some resources, but I perfer (sic) you have some other friends and family (I want to sleep with you but I don�t want to give you any money � do you see my dilemma?), but hay (sic) let me know and lets see (I might stump up some cash if you have a nicer than average rack.)

I�m not being funny, old bean, but if you have to rely on natural disasters to make unsavoury hits on desperate women, then I would think about giving up. Why not just title your ad: �Housing for blow jobs!� and be done with it, eh?

In �me� news, I drove successfully from Miami to Fort Lauderdale, and I�ve only tried to get in the passenger seat to drive twice.

Back
hosted by DiaryLand.com