newest older email

2005-05-29 - 12:18 a.m.

Today, for the first time in about fifty years, I bought a real live Compact Disc. It was really weird. You should try it sometime. Really.

Note I say �compact disc�. I�ve decided to become incredibly annoying to the general public by not using abbreviations any more. In fact, the story of this afternoon is that I went to the automatic teller machine at the Hong Kong and Shanghai Banking Corporation and then went down to His Master�s Voice to purchase my Compact Disc.

Exhausting, isn�t it?

The hotel we�re staying in is very cool � the clientele all look like they�re graffiti artists or DJ-ing, er, I mean disc-jockeying snowboard instructors. All fine and dandy, but why is it that �cool� is so often a byword for �inordinately low lighting levels that mean you�re always stubbing your toe on the inordinately low furniture�? Cool people do not like to see very much (hence the sulky drones that wear sunglasses inside even though they are blatantly not blind).

The reason I�m hungover and sat in my hotel room and not out in the Montreal sunshine is that last night required dancing in a public space and you know the amount of gin you have to drink to get through that. A lot, that�s how much. I think there might be rhythmic movement involved again tonight and I fear for my liver. The good news is that none many people can see you in the dark.

Back
hosted by DiaryLand.com