newest older email

2005-03-02 - 11:56 a.m.

The Anglo Saxons have effectively ruined my career. There I was, fresh-faced and eager to please my new editor, and then I go and slightly mis-represent an ancient tribe and it�s all over.

Actually, I mixed up my Iron Age and Anglo Saxon periods, and the museum involved didn�t take too kindly. I mean, heaven forbid they should be grateful for my including their poxy replica village in the first place. No, instead of enjoying the publicity, let�s really keep things authentic by going on a witch hunt and sending to the ducking stool someone who was only trying to do them a favour. Or was that the Middle Ages? Or the Dark Ages? You see, that�s where the trouble is.

Anyway, one rabid complaint letter later, and I�m out on my ear. The lesson is: (apart from have a modicum of professionalism, obviously) Never, ever mess with historical reconstructionists. They take no prisoners.

A week in Thailand has arrived with consummate timing. I�ll think about the jobless times ahead when I get back.

Back
hosted by DiaryLand.com