newest older email

2004-06-07 - 2:25 p.m.

In common with seemingly the entire world, I went to see the Pixies (small �t� on �the� as any true fan / malodorous irritating cockfarmer will tell you that the word �the� is not part of the band name, like the band Tindersticks and the country Ukraine). It was in no small part very enjoyable, thanks to the band themselves of course, but also to my housemate Bruce for his mad ticket-garnering skillz and my non-housemate Jennifer for her suave seat-saving prowess.

I was a bit wary of the gig as I have been obsessed with them for quite some time, though had never previously seen them live and as seeing your personal heroes goes, it�s probably best not to see them on a reunion tour, as any Velvet Underground fan will no doubt tell you.

So fat and old, yes, but when they�re pumping out songs at a hundred miles an hour like some kind of indie machine gun that barks, you can�t complain too loudly. They seemingly played every song they have every written, though of course they didn�t, but there was not one single �time to pop off for a crafty piss� song, an achievement not always achieved by even my beloved Tinders. Frank Black hollered like a tuneful but demonic hog, Kim Deal wooed and even sung the Lady in the Radiator Song, and Joey Santiago performed the most outrageous guitar solo of all time on Vamos, which involved him not even touching the guitar in question � none more Spinal Tap. David Lovering is an amazing drummer, though I�m glad the support wasn�t him doing science experiments, which it apparently had been the previous night. Anyway, I couldn�t hear the whole next day and my legs hurt, so it must have been aces. I may not have grown up to be a debaser, but if I ever get to hear anything like the song �Hey� live again, then my life will be a jagazillion times sweeter.

It�s always a relief to see your personal icons and find out they don�t suck big shaggy otter goolies. Yes, well might you look shame-faced, David Mamet. You can stand easy, Mr Amis and Mr Staples. Mr Morrissey�we have yet to see.

Back
hosted by DiaryLand.com