newest older email

2003-01-07 - 3:32 p.m.

There was a great line I just remembered from that play I saw last week: �Honesty is no more than the act of appearing to be so.� I think Thee Headcoats made the much the same point with the lyric �Everybody lies, everybody dies.� Er, I forget my point.

Speaking of everybody dying, though, I�m very excited about the forthcoming war, aren�t you? It�ll be a bumper wheeze, and I must say it�s jolly generous of the United States to take on the job of policing the world, and looking after global fuel supplies for us all. I�m sure their motives are pure. And if it means the needless slaughter of hundreds of thousands of people, well they wouldn�t do it unless they were a threat, would they? Why, those people could start marching and throwing rocks at our thermonuclear megadeath fire tanks at any time! No, the only conceivable solution (and coincidentally a foolproof way to end terrorism!) is to wipe out huge sections of an already ravaged population despite the wishes of every right thinking leader on the planet (let�s face it, that Kyoto pollution stuff and all those human rights bills they vetoed must just have been a bit of an inconvenience!) and lead us all headlong into�.well, I�ll let you guess where I started writing with a degree of irony.

I was speaking about this with A. the other day (I wish he�d tell me the other letters in his name) and we were agreed that the only way forward for the world is to just concede that America has WON. End of story. I�ve really thought this for some time. Let�s stop resisting, because really, where is it going to get you? Let them get on with completely fucking and raping the entire globe unhindered, and maybe we all get to live a little longer. Not as a race, obviously! Hahahahahaha. God, no. I mean, personally. Me. I get to live a little longer. Those (and here�s a term that keeps cropping up) innocent civilians from 9/11? They�d still be here if we�d have only laid down before Uncle Sam, and George wouldn�t have had all that blood on his grubby little oil-doused, death-warrant-signing cracker hands. Nothing much changes does it, apart from the scale? As Governor of Texas, he could have individual prisoners (granted, complete shedloads of them!) executed. As president, by initiating completely inhumane foreign policy, he can have 2,500 killed in one fell swoop. Inadvertent? OK, crazy diamond, you think that � it�s your world after all.

The quote on my George Bush calendar today is: �I think that if you say you�re going to do something and don�t do it, that�s trustworthiness.� Holyfuckingshit, this man is in charge of stuff! He�s running with nuclear scissors like a demented toddler through a nursery of critically ill babies.

Mind you, surely, and to paraphrase a, er, phrase, trustworthiness is no more than the act of appearing to be so.

Back
hosted by DiaryLand.com