newest older email

2005-08-08 - 6:25 p.m.

It�s like I was saying to young Kev Spacey over beers on Saturday night. �Kev,� I said, �I like what you�re doing with the theatre and everything, but do you really have to cast yourself in the lead role of EVERY production? Let someone dip into the dressing up box for once why don�t ya?!�

Actually, I didn�t say that. Or even speak to him at all. But he WAS in the groovy late bar that we just discovered in our neighbourhood, so it can only be a matter of time before he plucks up the courage to talk to me and we become firm friends. If you�re reading, Kev, and I know you sometimes do, don�t be a stranger, OK? I might look like I�m unapproachable, but all that drunken gibbering is just a front.

Such a hefty, draining but essentially great weekend (that actually started on Thursday) catching up with old friends, though catching up with old friends does always seem to involve drinking yourself poorly.

Today was spent in the recovery position, when I should really be packing (I�m in Budapest for a few days from tomorrow and having to leave the house at 4bloodya.m.) and making the place nice for the arrival of Todd Marquisdedejadu and the man he squires around town, Ben � very rude of me to jet off as soon as they get here, but they�ll be playing out in Scotland until I get back.

It�s hard to know what to pack for a trip that involves a Hungarian rock festival, a railway museum and cycling tour of the local hills, so I guess I�ll do what I usually do and just take everything I�ve ever owned.

I�m still casting for Florida tour guide, by the way (see last entry) � dates will be 1st-10th September.

Back
hosted by DiaryLand.com