newest older email

2005-07-05 - 12:23 a.m.

So I guess I�ve got about a forty minute kip before I head off to sunny Malmo (it�s in Sweden, I found out not long ago) for a crazy proper Yoo-row-peeyan music festival. I meant to go to bed much earlier, but instead there�s wanton latery as I was up on online poker trying to win enough for me and Bruce to subsist on expensive champagne, but sadly I lost to all manner of rank amateurs and I�ll have to serve tea and coffee on the plane in order to afford one beer.

Sonic Youth are headlining, I know that much. I�m hoping they will break their festival tradition of (at least when I see them) playing four and a half hours of one-note feedback instead of their greatest hits. I can�t remember who else is on, but Bruce tells me they�re fashionably obscure, so probably have names along the lines of Dingo Cheese Accelerator, Extreme Pachinko Orgy and GUT! Oh, Joanna Newsome, that�s one. You see?

I�ve never been to Sweden � I had a nasty childhood incident with blond � so I�m quite excited, though given we are only there for the festival, I�m thinking it will mostly involve getting lost and overpriced lager, which I can happily organise in London but you have to broaden your horizons, and we all know what my horizons are like. Virtually anorexic, that�s what.

I�ve only ever been abroad for Tindersticks before. I do hope they don�t get all jealous. Words to follow.

I had a lot to say on Live 8, but it�s too L8 (hahahahaha) now, so I�ll just restrict myself to a barbaric WTF?!?!?! re: Pete Doherty, Maria Carey and Will Smith being bought on stage on a throne (someone told me).

To bed. Swede dreams (are made of these).

Back
hosted by DiaryLand.com