newest older email

2004-10-22 - 2:29 p.m.

Last night I made a lame joke about �busy� being a letter away from �busty� (if you know the names of the cast from Freaks and Geeks, you can guess the context), and whilst it doesn�t bear repeating, this fact does cause my life to be slightly more perilous than it should be. Many is the time when I have written a work-related e-mail, only to see the sentence �Sorry, I�ve been really busty recently�, �I can do it tomorrow if I�m not busty� or the potentially chilling �How are you? Not too busty I hope.�

Other common misspellings of mine are more benign: �Here is the from you requested� or the surreal �I�m trying to remain clam�. Spellcheck is no safety net for these, of course. And though I try to stay on the ball � I do proof-read for part (prat?) of my job, after all � I really think that busty is going to be my downfall. And there must have been many a man who has said that.

I also shudder when I read something back that I have usually just sent and there�s more innuendo than a drag queen�s stand up act, only I didn�t mean it. This, from a feature I was writing yesterday about a mountain range in Australia:

��Suddenly we�re going down for a close up view, almost smelling the jagged, untamed bush jutting out from the gentle undulations as we penetrate the oily mist��

Subliminal much? I should have sideline writing soft pron.

Back
hosted by DiaryLand.com