newest older email

2004-10-11 - 2:23 p.m.

Superman, Derrida, Indymedia and my plans for a relaxing week are all enjoying repeated visits to the great salad bar in the sky today, with results of varying importance to the world at large, natch.

Christopher Reeve gets his own �SUPERMAN IS DEAD� headline on the Daily Planet, er, sorry, Evening Standard together with a picture of, er, Superman (but will Tobey Maguire ever enjoy the same surreal obituary?), thought-monger Derrida is deconstructed and it�s another great day for freedom of speech as the George �Turd on a Wire� Bush begins his shut-down of independent news sources. The UK version is still up, though, if, like everyone else, you just want to read about Tony Blair�s daughter trying to top herself.

Way bigger than the death of cultural and intellectual icons and the horrifying US-sponsored end of democracy is my apparent inability to handle deadlines, though. Having to do work that I am getting paid to do in my own time is eating into my midweek leisure-time plans, and it�s really harshing my mellow.

Back
hosted by DiaryLand.com