newest older email

2004-08-17 - 4:49 p.m.

Well strike a light, stone the crows and nudge my bollards with a barge pole, some things do come as a nice surprise. Whyfore the hoo-ha? Well, it seems that the rest of my profession is made up of ranks of barely-literate, gibbering chimps, or at least that�s the only conclusion I can possibly draw having won that award I was jabbering on about a few weeks ago! Lawks a mussy, what the hell is everybody playing at? If they can�t beat my hastily dashed off mutterings, then travel journalism is in a sorry state and no mistake. But who am I to turn down a flight out to B@ngkok courtesy of the powers that be, pick up my gong and return home, the conquering hero, to barely-stifled yawns aplenty and a whole new world of being not just an unemployed travel writer, but, and contain your jets of liquid joy, an AWARD WINNING unemployed travel writer. My parents are very proud, and I�m sure they think fondly of me, too. Sadly, the award is not in the form of massive great wodges of hard currency, but is in the rather less immediately spend-able form of kudos and a title that no-one has ever heard of. But jangle my loose change, if I don�t just feel that tiny bit more growed up today. About 15, then.

Back
hosted by DiaryLand.com