newest older email

2002-08-29 - 7:43 p.m.

I�m warming the editor�s chair again this week. Me and the Art Editor are the sole employees and it�s laughable that we alone are responsible for getting out this publication on a daily basis. We spend most of our days speaking to each other in the ape language of Tarzan (as used in the cartoon, Tarzan, Lord of the Jungle � �Unk, tantor! Unk!), or working out how we can get a picture of Lee Majors into a feature about second hand clothing, or quotes from Burgess Meredith in Rocky 3 (eg, �They was good fighters, Rock�) into items on road safety, or just going with the worst headlines we can think of, as in today�s advert for an autograph of the Dalai Lama (I came up with �I Can�t Believe It�s Not Buddha�). In short, we�re turning it into a cultural reference junkyard. All headlines are band names or song titles � today alone we had Tindersticks, Blondie and obscure 80s popsters Modern Romance. Today we put Tracy Emin�s bed on the front cover. I guess today we kind of stopped giving a shit. It�s fun, and scary at the same time that we�ve been let loose on this. BUT HERE: tomorrow is my last day in charge � please guestbook suggestions of anything that you challenge me to put in (bear in mind this is a classified adverts paper, so I have to use my imagination somewhat) whether pics or words / phrases / song titles in the editorial. I will do my best and then post physical proof next week. May as well go out with a bang.

Back
hosted by DiaryLand.com