newest older email

2002-05-07 - 4:39 p.m.

Following yesterday�s apology, and in an uncharacteristic display of direct action, I decided to spend yesterday�s bank holiday, traditionally the time for all day drinking or tossing plastic discs around in parks, at a potentially educational (for me) rally � namely the �British Jews for Israel� demo in Trafalgar Square. I figured I owed it to myself to try and get an insight into public feeling, and also there wasn�t much on TV and I was too hungover to go to the pub.

I wandered around the 40,000 or so pro-Israeli Brits for a while. There were speakers. Benjamin �Do you� Netanyahu (you�re a genius, Nictate) said Arafat was like Hitler (I always had him down more as a ringer for Admiral Akbar from Return of the Jedi), a Christian Bishop was loudly booed for daring to suggest that a young suicide bomber had acted out of �desperation� and there was much talk of �the fight�, ostensibly in spiritual terms, but you got the feeling that no-one would really mind too much if it meant bombing Arafat a new cakehole in the process. Still, demonstrations, passions run high, and shows of human solidarity are not to be scorned.

There wasn�t much action, so I went to join the seemingly uncontroversial �British Jews for Justice for Palestinians� group on the steps of a church. We were a small band for some reason, and people walked by us happily enough, and we even got a few sly smiles, though they were possibly from the people surreptitiously handing out pro-Arab flyers. More speeches were spoken. The Muslims at the far side got very shouty (I chickened out of my original plan to stand with them just for kicks). Flags (Israeli, British) were waived and respective national anthems sung. It was all quite civilised.

Then it finished and the crowds dispersed. If people hadn�t noticed us before, they certainly did now. It wasn�t the nicest of experiences, I have to say. I wasn�t holding a banner, but the people that were had slogans about human rights and peace and not killing babies and other sensible stuff, and this seemed to annoy most people quite a lot. The small group stood impassive on the steps as insults, saliva and bits of card headed our way. I adopted my �innocent bystander� pose on the edge of the group, wanting a cigarette, but not wanting to declare any allegiances by asking the wrong side for a light. The pro-Israeli Jews called the pro-peace Jews a lot of bad names, unless �Fucking Cunt� is actually Hebrew for �I admire your drive for a peaceful solution�.

Then a shaven-headed guy with Israeli and Union Jack flags draped over him came over, who seemed very intent on explaining loudly to my face that I was a �fucking disgrace to my religion�. Now, I�m not denying it. After all, I AM a fucking disgrace to Catholicism, and quite happy about it, thank you very much, but there�s something confusingly depressing about a young British Jewish skinhead wrapped in flags hurling religious abuse at people who agree with him politically but just want the killing to stop.

I ignored him and tried to concentrate on looking bystandery, and though his vehemence faded, he parted with the words �At least I fucking fight shoulder to shoulder.� Dude, you live in a detached house in Tottenham. I�m standing with sensible Jewish people. I�m sure you�re just about half-past give a shit, but this is a group of religious people that actually give me hope for the future of the human race. You don�t give me hope of making it to tomorrow tea-time.

But he�d already said his piece and gone. I admired the bravery of some people, and didn�t admire the stupidity of some others, but I think at least I�m getting a better understanding, and that was the point of the exercise. It�s the British Palestinian rally next week�I just hope they have the British Arabs for the Immediate Sainthood of Sharon group I can stand with.

Back
hosted by DiaryLand.com