newest older email

2002-04-25 - 6:45 p.m.

Kind of lazy (so sue me...) but these are my favourite quotes about diaries:

"I never travel without my diary. One should always have something sensational to read on the train." Oscar Wilde

"What is more dull than a discreet diary? One might as well have a discreet soul." Henry Channon

"I always say, keep a good diary and one day it'll keep you." Mae West

"The moment a man sets his thoughts down on paper, however secretly, he is in a sense writing for publication." Raymond Chandler

"To write a diary every day is like returning to one's own vomit." Enoch Powell (moronic, fascist politician of 60's and 70's)

And my personal favourite...

"To be a good diarist, one must have a little, snouty, sneaky mind." Harold Nicolson

Oh, to have a snouty mind.

Back
hosted by DiaryLand.com