newest older email

2001-08-14 - 12:08 p.m.

12pm, north-west coast of Australia

So this is the southern hemisphere (I haven't checked the bathwater/plughole interaction situation yet). Getting here was pretty smooth. Biz is pretty much like econ, except with more movies and halitosis. The meals are still shite, but they look nicer. No sign of free drugs or handjobs. Your seat is electronic, though, so that's worth the extra couple of grand.

My day and a half in Perth was spent wondering whether or not I had jetlag (it was difficult to tell, and the time-difference/time spent in air maths were hurting my brain). And now I'm up in mining country. The landscape is basically lots and lots of very red rocks. It looks like Mars after some particularly unsuccessful construction work. There's not much to do except drive around and look at the red rocks, which is OK for a bit, but a boy has his limits. Today I'm driving out to see rocks in a different place up the coast, just for kicks.

Back in Perth tomorrow for 2 days. I'm on a tour to a nearby island, where the highlight is having your picture taken with a Quokka, which I'm hoping is some kind of cute marsupial, and not the local term for "sex offender" or something.

Trek into the bush (another local euphamism?) has been cancelled, so defecating in the ground will remain an as-yet-undiscovered joy.

More from the big city in a couple of days. Ripper, mate!

Back
hosted by DiaryLand.com