newest older email

2001-06-05 - 12:32 a.m.

�I�ve spent all day trying to decide about the things you said last night��

In Dublin�s fair city, where the girls are so pretty, and the Guinness flows like so many reasons to appreciate the lax licensing laws. I had as much fun as is to be had with a menstrual Mediterranean in tow. We ate, drank and climbed a mountain � actually strolled across a clifftop, but who�s checking? Either way, my calf muscles are looking to secede from my aching legs. The guesthouse owner put us in his �favourite room� � obviously he�s a big fan of malfunctioning plumbing and not having a TV and being next to the kitchen that starts preparing noisy breakfasts at 6.30am.

People actually talk to you in Dublin. In London, if you said �Hello!� to a stranger, they�d shout �WHY?!?!?!?� and take out a restraining order. I was early meeting my friend in a pub, sat down with my pint and the couple next to me asked if I was on holiday (the huge press pack from the Tourist Board must have given me away). I said I was writing a feature for a newspaper. �Oh my god!� the woman said. �Whatever you do, don�t mention you saw me. My husband thinks I�m at my sisters, not having a dirty weekend with my boyfriend.� After reassuring her that it wasn�t an expose on marital infidelity, we managed a fairly normal conversation. Which was nice.

�I feel so lonely, when I get back from seeing you, and when someone brings up your name, I can feel myself begin to change..�

I�m now asking myself � is 4 days long enough to write a best mans speech, and if not, what do I propose to do about it?

�Warm hands and the things you say, you get lovelier every day��

Today�s special guests

Back
hosted by DiaryLand.com